Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

For readers of Laura Hillenbrand's Seabiscuit and Unbroken, the dramatic story of the American rowing team that stunned the world at Hitler's 1936 Berlin Olympics Daniel James Brown’s robust book tells the story of the University of Washington’s 1936 eight-oar crew and their epic quest for an Olympic gold medal, a team that transformed the sport and grabbed the attention of millions of American…

The Boys in the Boat

by Daniel James Brown

Overall Book Review:

The Boys in the Boat tells the incredible story of nine boys from the University of Washington who rowed for gold in the 1936 Olympics. It’s an inspiring story that’s almost too good to be true and author Daniel James Brown does an amazing job of telling it. Despite a complicated plot (topics include the University of Washington’s rowing team, the mechanics and psychology of the sport, and Nazi Germany’s Olympic prep to name a few), Brown’s tale remains interesting and compelling from start to finish. While the novel discusses all nine teammates and their coaches, the story centers on likeable and hard-working rower Joe Rantz. Rantz makes for a fascinating main character and provides a lot of emotional charge in this well-researched story. If you enjoyed great nonfiction like Seabiscuit and Unbroken, this is the perfect book for you!


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  14 mild obscenities; 1 religious profanity; 1 derogatory name; 1 anatomical term.

Violence/Gore:  Reports of violence involving brawls, war and the Holocaust; a few violence scenes include a mob, fistfight and being hit on the head with a board; fire and floods destroy property with no casualties; Jews are tortured and a student accidently dies by fire in non-detailed scenes of violent death. 

Sex/Nudity:  A few sexual references and reported incidents of sexual activity.

Mature Subject Matter:

Death of a family member, religious persecution, abandonment, homelessness, poverty, stealing, the Holocaust.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

Smoking and drinking frequently occur.

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
3
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
3
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
3
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

An accountant and CPA by profession, I found myself a book reviewer for Squeaky Clean Reads by happenstance. When the opportunity came to transform that website into Compass Book Ratings, I was excited to seize it and meld my business background with my love of books. As the mother of three teenage sons, I have read a large number of children and young adult books and I believe that there is great value in a content review service. As much as we would love to read everything our children read, there just isn’t enough time. I also appreciate being able to select books for myself that are really worth my precious and limited reading time. I believe there is a book out there for everyone–they just have to find it!