Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Starting middle school is hard enough when you don't know anyone; it's even harder when you're shy. A contemporary middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends about how dealing with anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life. As long as Maggie rolls the right number, nothing can go wrong...right? Maggie just wants to get through her first year of middle school. But between fi…

Just Roll With It

by Veronica Agarwal, Lee Durfey-Lavoie

Overall Book Review:

Veronica Agarwal’s Just Roll With It is a sweet story of friendship and overcoming difficulties. Lee Durfey-Lavoie’s illustrations are an excellent complement to Agarwal’s story. The majority of the characters are supportive and understanding and it’s great to see main character Maggie learn and grow. Of course, there are a few antagonists who add conflict and interest to the plot. The beginning of the story is a little confusing but if you’re patient, further details will be given later on to clear things up. 

It’s great that author Veronica Agarwal addresses mental health, specifically OCD. I’m sure the story will resonate with many readers like Maggie, and hopefully help them better understand themselves in order to get the help they need. If you’re looking for a quick read with more substance than a typical graphic novel, especially if you’re into RPGs (role playing games) Just Roll With It might be the perfect choice for you.

Review of a Digital Advance Reading Copy provided by Penguin Random House.

Content Review:

Profanity/Language: 6 religious exclamations. (Note: 5 five additional religious exclamation acronyms (OMG).)

Violence/Gore: Several (15) brief incidents including characters teasing others about getting hurt; character imagining that if she doesn’t do certain things she or others will die or get hurt; fighting in a game; animal at a zoo could kill others; reference to fighting a monster in a game; second-hand report of a bike getting damaged; second-hand report of an animal getting hurt; bullies hurting and pushing others.

Sex/Nudity: Few (3) brief incidents including characters holding hands; homosexual characters.

Mature Themes:

Homosexual characters

Drug/Alcohol use:

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
1
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
1
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
2
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I love being able to help busy parents who just don’t have the time to pre-screen all their children’s books and know how much I appreciate it as my sons have gotten older. I feel very blessed that my amazing husband makes it possible for me to be a stay-at-home mother to four amazing boys. When not reading or enjoying time with my family, I like baking, especially trying new recipes, and the occasional sewing project.