Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

A popular middle-grade writer moves to chapter books with this humorous tale about a cat that makes Grumpy Cat seem cheerful. Perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and Dog Diaries. Hissy Fitz lives with some two-legged creatures who are destined to serve him in every possible way and understand his every whim. Sadly, these creatures are sorely lacking in their skills. For one thing--they touch him when they want to touch him. Don't they know that the two-legged are there for him to touch when he wants to--meaning when he wants food? Petting wakes him up! They speak to him--don't they know the two-legged should be seen--so Hissy knows where to order food--and not heard! It's becoming intolerable. What is this irascible cat to do?…

Hissy Fitz

by Patrick Jennings

Overall Book Review:

Whether you are a cat lover or not, the brilliant cover on Hissy Fitz is irresistible. This book takes a humorous look at less than 24 hours in the life of Hissy Fitz, a house cat whose human interactions make sleeping an impossibility.  Cat owners will smile at the familiar cat behavior and attitude.  With an over-abundance of bad attitude, Hissy prowls the town. There is one characterization misstep when Hissy and his feline friends diverge into some human games; this feels incongruent to the cat narrative and it is hard to envision Hissy deigning to stoop to such homosapien behavior.  That quibble aside, any series with a cat this grumpy has a lot of potential.

This chapter book by Patrick Jennings is captivatingly illustrated by Michael Allen Austin and would be a great read for readers even younger than age nine.  Naturally, it is a must read for young cat owners so they can walk in the footsteps of their feline friends for a little while.  If you enjoy Hissy Fitz and are waiting for the next installment in the series, another great book from a cat’s perspective is Socks by Beverly Cleary.

Review of an Advance Reader Copy

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Egmont


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  None

Violence/Gore:  Character bangs/bumps head; two animals fight, non-detailed; animal hisses threateningly upon various occasions; animal eats a mouse; animal slashes packaged chicken breast, mention of blood on claws; animal swipes claw at characters.

Sex/Nudity:  None

Mature Subject Matter:

None

Alcohol / Drug Use:

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
0
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
2
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
0
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

An accountant and CPA by profession, I found myself a book reviewer for Squeaky Clean Reads by happenstance. When the opportunity came to transform that website into Compass Book Ratings, I was excited to seize it and meld my business background with my love of books. As the mother of three teenage sons, I have read a large number of children and young adult books and I believe that there is great value in a content review service. As much as we would love to read everything our children read, there just isn’t enough time. I also appreciate being able to select books for myself that are really worth my precious and limited reading time. I believe there is a book out there for everyone–they just have to find it!