Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention--featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse. June's whole life has been leading up to this: ZombieCon, the fan convention celebrating all things zombies. She and her two best friends plan on hitting all the panels, photo ops, and meeting the heartthrob lead of their favorite zombie apocalypse show Human Wasteland. And when they arrive everything seems perfect, though June has to shrug off some weirdness from other fans--people shambling a little too much, and someone actually biting a cast member. Then all hell breaks loose and June and her friends discover the truth: real zombies are taking over the con. Now June must do whatever it takes to survive a horde of actual brain-eating zombies--and save the world. This is a hilarious and heartfelt horror comedy, a…

Overall Book Review:

Are you a super fan?  Ever wondered what it would be like to be trapped in a zombie apocalypse?  Do you like a fast-paced story with lots of action and some serious butt-kicking?  If so, the grab a copy of Girls Save the World in This One and get ready for some page-turning fun.

I found the timing of the release of this book to be extremely fortuitous.  Afterall, I am sitting here reading a book about a group of girls trapped in a convention center due to a zombie outbreak as I am trapped inside my home due to COVID-19.  But I instantly fell in love with the three main characters: Siggy, June, and Imani.  These three females embody everything that is great about a well-done character.  They are all vastly different, but yet share the same insecurities, strengths, and bonds of friendship that make them such a cohesive team.  And while part of the story has them icing out a fourth friend due to her less than stellar choices, they eventually come to grips with their feelings of betrayal, what forgiveness means, and ultimately what true friendship is.

The setting in this novel never really changes.  99.9% of it takes place in your average convention center.  But the descriptions of up and down stairways, escalators and running from place to place really kept the story from drying out and becoming stale.  While the whole book takes place in one building, I feel like I was all over the map.  And you’ll quickly be able to relate and feel right in the midst whether you are from a small town or a big city.

This book moves at a super-fast pace and even though it is moderate in length at 426 pages, I felt like I flew through it.  The language is quite easy and mature content aside, younger readers wouldn’t feel overwhelmed by the length.  The book has a little bit of everything:  horror, humor, friendship, and romance.  There is clearly something here for everyone and I would recommend the book to young and old alike. 

Review of an Advance Reading Copy

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Philomel


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  18 religious exclamations; 40 mild obscenities; 3 religious profanities; 1 derogatory name; 7 scatological words; 15 anatomical terms.

Violence/Gore:  Bloody nose; woman tackles man; man tackled to ground and restrained; bloody leg injury from fall; verbal threat; numerous short and lengthy instances of zombie versus human attacks that depict bloody wounds, graphic/realistic blood and gore from mutilated body parts and killing/death of many zombies.

Sex and Nudity:  4 hugs; slap to butt (girl to girl); 2 instances of hand-holding; hand on waist, kiss.

Mature Subject Matter:

Infidelity, death (zombies), zombie apocalypse.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

Adult drinks whiskey.

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
6
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
6
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
2
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I am a full-time mom, full-time wife, and overtime reader. I have been an avid reader for as long as anyone can remember. It must run in the family because both my mother and grandmother are also voracious readers and often pass books back and forth. Almost any genre can spark my interest, but I often go in streaks, reading a bunch of books from one genre, then switching to another for a while and back again.