Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

When Martin "Murray Poopins" Healey left the Wolfhardt household, all the responsible habits that David and Nathan had developed under his less-than-watchful eye went out the window. So when Myron, who is the spitting image (including the spit) of Martin, arrives on the Wolfhardt doorstep, he is instantly hired to watch Nathan and David. But Myron seems to know things that only Martin could have known, and before long Nathan and David are sure that something strange is going on with their mustachioed manny. As Myron takes them on wild adventures, the twins have their own agenda--to prove that Myron is Martin. But what if there's really a Martin and Myron, and what if they both want the nanny job? Will Nathan and David get a double dose of nannying? Perfect for fans of Dan Gutman and Tom Angleberger, boys and girls will love the zany laugh-out-loud humor and fun illustrations found in every chapter.…

Overall Book Review:

Martin Healy Discount and his mustache took twin terrors David and Nathan and turned them into model citizens with his unorthodox, to say the least, methods.  But then as quickly as he came into their lives he left, and things quickly digressed.  Enter Myron Hyron Dyron, and his mustache.  Could Myron and Martin be one and the same?

All the hilarity and hijinks are back in The Day the Mustache Came Back, the second book in The Mustache series by Alan Katz. Though the pace is slightly slower than the first book all the wit and wordplay is exactly what you would expect from Katz. The author does a wonderful job keeping the story light while maintaining and continuing the character development from the previous book.  The Day the Mustache Came Back is a win for Katz and delightfully entertaining read.

Review of an Advance Reader’s Copy

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Bloomsbury USA


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  None

Violence/Gore: Boy falls over; object/item blows up; boy slaps himself and another boy; man steps on a woman’s shoe; boy elbow another boy.

Sex/Nudity:  Few instances of hugging.

Mature Subject Matter:

Family, responsibility, honesty.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
0
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
1
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
1
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I always say that I love to read and that books are my passion, but as I have grown a little older, I have come to realize that isn’t entirely true. I do love reading, but my true passion is stories. For as long as I can remember I have been completely enthralled with a good story, no matter the medium: books, theater, movies/TV shows–even a few video games (yes, I am a nerd).