Publisher's Note:  

When orphaned Anthea Cross-Thornley receives a letter from a long-lost uncle, she wonders if she will finally find a true home. But she is shocked to learn that her uncle secretly breeds horses--animals that have been forbidden in her kingdom for centuries. More alarming is Anthea's strange ability to sense the horses' thoughts and feelings, an ancient gift called The Way. Confused and terrified, Anthea is desperate to leave, but when her family and kingdom are put at risk, can she embrace The Way and the exciting future it might bring her?

This sweeping, emotionally-resonant fantasy from beloved author Jessica Day George is perfect for fans of Princess Academy and Black Beauty.



This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Bloomsbury Children's Books


The Rose Legacy

by Jessica Day George

Review Date:
05/02/2018

Recommended Age:
12+

Overall Rating:
****1/2

Profanity / Language Rating:
**

Violence / Gore Rating:
***

Sex / Nudity Rating:
**

Overall Review:  

I really loved the horse-y elements to this book! The Rose Legacy by Jessica Day George is a fun adventure story that follows the main character, Anthea Cross-Thornley, from her prim life as a proper young lady in the city of Coronam, to her less glamorous life with an uncle in the Exiled Lands beyond Coronam's Wall.

At first, Anthea is horrified and terrified to discover her uncle is harboring illegal horses on his farm--horses the citizens of Coronam believed to be carriers of a deadly plague that almost wiped out the city in its early years. But as Anthea develops the bond - the Way - that exists between her and the horses, she comes to realize that all she believed about the world beyond the Wall is a lie, and she will do anything to protect the horses from being destroyed. Even if it means confronting the King himself.

Readers of The Secret Horses of Briar Hill by Megan Shepherd will enjoy reading this little gem of a book.

Review of an Advance Reader's Copy


Content Analysis:  

Profanity/Language:  1 mild obscenity. 

Violence/Gore:  A girl is shuffled between relatives who don't want her; report of a horse plague that decimated a kingdom; a character has a choking sensation and indicates that a horse is choking on a sponge; occasional memories of the death of a parent; a girl throws her shoes at someone; report of a civilization being infected with a sickness from an invading people; report of two horses fighting, and one dying; a girl confronts a ferocious horse to save a burrowing owl; a girl is almost trampled by a horse; two horses viciously fight; a character gets bitten by an owl; a girl can feel the injuries on a horse; characters are trained to shoot guns in case of attack; a man accuses people of treason; a character breaks his arm; a girl is thrown from a horse and sustains minor injuries; a horse falls and sustains minor injuries; a horse is caught in a wire snare; a girl is struck and cut by wire as a horse breaks free; a girl is shot; a character is tied down to prevent further injury; a mother and daughter have a tense argument; a character escapes from a moving train; a character gets sick and delirious; characters discuss politics with veiled threats against horses.

Sex/Nudity:  Mention of a place where men wear skirts, ladies trousers, and no one wears drawers; a maid undresses and bathes a young girl (not sexual); a girl falls against and is held by a young man; a man helps a girl onto a horse by pushing on her buttocks; a girl has tingly feelings for a boy; a girl reads a note from her mother to her father; a boy touches a girl's hand; a boy and girl hold hands; a character recalls getting gently kissed on the cheek by a boy.



Mature Subject Matter:  

Child abandonment, separation, death of a parent, threat of war, endangered animals.



Alcohol / Drug Use:  

None



Reviewed By Katrina
No image available