Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Culinary delights abound, romance lingers in the air, and plans go terribly, wonderfully astray in this gender-bent take on My Fair Lady from Jennieke Cohen, author of Dangerous Alliance—perfect for fans of Bridgerton or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue. It’s 1830s England, and Culinarians—doyens who consult with society’s elite to create gorgeous food and confections—are the crème de la…

My Fine Fellow

by Jennieke Cohen

Overall Book Review:

My Fine Fellow is a food inspired take on the classic Pygmalion or My Fair Lady story.  Set in 1800’s England, the story follows the training and rise of Mr. Elijah Little as two aspiring culinarians (students of the culinary arts) take him under their wing and seek to elevate his circumstances.

The review of this novel is short, simply because there is really nothing new here.  The story is a cookie-cutter retelling of My Fair Lady, right down to the character names being pulled almost exactly from the movie, just in gender role reversal.  Take out the flowers and substitute food and you can pretty much tell the whole story without ever reading the book.  The only thing surprising in this story was that in the end the love story is between an alternate character as relates to the original.  This novel does weave in the novelty of dealing with issues of anti-Semitism and mixed racial relationships, but not enough to redeem it from mediocrity.

Appropriate for younger audiences given its content rating, maybe the younger masses will be unfamiliar with the baselines enough to find it interesting.  Fans of My Fair Lady are either going to love or hate it.  I found it as a so-so read that was predictable but well-written enough that I could finish and see the author’s love for the story.

Review of a Digital Advance Reading Copy Provided by the Publisher.

Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  2 mild obscenities.

Violence /Gore:  Recall of man’s death as result of beating.

Sex/Nudity:  Two instances of hand-holding.

Mature Subject Matter: 

Death, socio-economic conflict, anti-Semitism.

Drug and Alcohol Usage: 

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
2
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
2
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
1
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I am a full-time mom, full-time wife, and overtime reader. I have been an avid reader for as long as anyone can remember. It must run in the family because both my mother and grandmother are also voracious readers and often pass books back and forth. Almost any genre can spark my interest, but I often go in streaks, reading a bunch of books from one genre, then switching to another for a while and back again.