Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code! Loops, variables, input/output – Lucy can’t wait to get started with the new coding club at school. Finally, an after school activity that she’s really interested in. But Lucy’s excitement turns to disappointment when she’s put into a work group with girls she barely knows. All she wanted to do was make an app that she believes will help someone very special to her. Suddenly, Lucy begins to get cryptic coding messages and needs some help translating them. She soon discovers that coding – and friendship – takes time, dedication, and some laughs!…

Overall Book Review:

A timely and relevant book in light of the recent push for more STEM in the schools and getting girls interested in those areas, Girls Who Code: The Friendship Code by Stacia Deutsch is perfect for any girl wondering what the hype about coding is all about. The book introduces the concept of coding in a simple to understand way and also ties it all together with how coding is useful/relevant to everyday life. It doesn’t go into detail about how exactly to code, but more how it affects the life of a middle schooler and how it is all around.

And while the actual act of coding is pretty cool, as one creates apps and programs, the coding club also brought together four girls that soon realize they have more in common than they first thought. The Friendship Code is a novel that is as much about friendship and seeing past differences as it is a book pushing the importance of STEM and coding.

Review of an Advance Uncorrected Galley

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Grosset and Dunlap


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  1 religious exclamation. 

Violence/Gore: None 

Sex/Nudity:  None

Mature Subject Matter:

Divorce, cancer.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
1
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
0
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
0
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I remember as a young girl sneaking out of my bedroom to read by the hall light my parents left on, just so I could finish an exciting book. I’ve always loved books and reading is somewhat of a passion for me–something I’m passing on to my kids. I have four children and I have a hard time making them turn out the light when they say, “But I just got to the good part”.