Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code! Maya and her friends from coding club have an exciting new project: they're coding lights and music for the winter dance! But when Maya's old troublemaking friend Maddie moves to town, Maya starts spending a lot of time with her, and less time with her coding friends. Maddie just gets her in a way that her other friends don't. Will Maya get swayed by Maddie's wayward ways, or will she stay true to her "permanent group" from coding club? And will she come through on her part for the light and music coding project? Maybe coding--like friendship--is about being there for your friends when they need you the most.…

Overall Book Review:

The all girls coding club is back in the next installment of Girls Who Code, written by Jo Whittemore. This one is called Lights, Music, Code!. While Maya’s passion is fashion, she loves what coding can add to her world, however rough that world seems at the moment as her past comes back to haunt her. The coding club is all excited to use their coding talents to add something exciting to the next school dance. Just as they start to work together to put together an amazing addition to the dance, Maya’s friend from the past, Nicole, starts to stir the pot and cause trouble. Maya learns a great lesson of what true friendship means and what it takes to own up to one’s past and learn from it.

The Girls Who Code series is a timely series with the push for STEM and coding in the schools. In Lights, Music, Code! the girls have fun applying coding to making the school dance a little more exciting. It’s fun to see how coding can be applied to so many different aspects of life. From light-up dresses to lights that pulse to the beat of the music, coding is certainly more fun than just putting numbers in a computer.

Girls Who Code: The Friendship Code is another book in the Girls Who Code series.

Review is of an Advance Uncorrected Galley

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Penguin Workshop


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  2 religious exclamations. 

Violence/Gore:  Description of video game violence given that includes mention of cutting off a trolls head with a dagger; character is forcibly grabbed by the wrist. 

Sex/Nudity:  None

Mature Subject Matter:

Brief mention (no details given) of divorce and death of family member.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

None

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
1
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
2
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
0
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I remember as a young girl sneaking out of my bedroom to read by the hall light my parents left on, just so I could finish an exciting book. I’ve always loved books and reading is somewhat of a passion for me–something I’m passing on to my kids. I have four children and I have a hard time making them turn out the light when they say, “But I just got to the good part”.