Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Fans of Ender's Game and The Maze Runner will love this smart sci-fi debut! Phaet Theta has lived her whole life in a colony on the Moon. She’s barely spoken since her father died in an accident nine years ago. She cultivates the plants in Greenhouse 22, lets her best friend talk for her, and stays off the government’s radar. Then her mother is arrested. The only way to save her younger siblings from the degrading Shelter is by enlisting in the Militia, the faceless army that polices the Lunar bases and protects them from attacks by desperate Earth dwellers. Training is brutal, but it’s where Phaet forms an uneasy but meaningful alliance with the preternaturally accomplished Wes, a fellow outsider. Rank high, save her siblings, free her mom: that’s the plan. Until Phaet’s logically ordered world begins to crumble... Suspenseful, intelligent, and hauntingly prescient, Dove Arising stands on the shoulders of our greatest tales of the future to tell a story that is all too…

Overall Book Review:

Just when you thought you had read them all…here is another book you should read if you loved The Hunger Games. At times, this book was eerily similar; at others, it held no resemblance whatsoever. Upon finishing it, I am certain that anyone who is looking for something to fill their dystopian craving will be satisfied with this book. I was also pleasantly reminded of the book The City of Ember.

This book takes place not only in the future, but also on a different planet. This will intrigue teen readers, and make them question the idea of life on other planets (a great conversation starter). The protagonist is a strong, fierce female named Phaet. Phaet was a really interesting character, and I will admit that there was a very tense part where I almost started crying. (This hardly ever happens when I read, so you know this was a powerful book.) At times this book was quite detailed, but if you read The Hunger Games and could handle that, this one won’t faze you a bit.

I am pretty excited to see where this series goes, and I bet lots of teens and adults will be scrambling to get the next book once it is released. So get a head start and read Dove Arising as soon as you can. You won’t regret it.


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language: 1 religious exclamation; 8 mild obscenities; 1 religious profanity; 1 anatomical term.

Violence/Gore:  Explosions and screams heard; soldiers destroy homes and land; minor throws hand grenades in an attempt to ward off an attack; verbal threats are made; a minor is manhandled and threatened; an observation of a girl “slugging a little boy” is made; a blister is drained and a brief scene of blood and puss being cleaned up ensues; bullying occurs and threats are made; a minor is in a life or death situation, survives; an aircraft shoots at another aircraft in a several page scene; a description of an aircraft crashing is made with brief detail of the occurrence; injuries and death occur in a war; a boy cuts a girl with a knife and she bleeds in a brief scene; a woman is executed in front of her child in a scene, she is lethally injected; a pair of minors are chased in a scary scene; girl gets injured and her arms starts to bleed; a boy and a girl are put in a compromising situation where they can’t obtain food or water.

Sex/Nudity:  Minors are flirtatious with each other; a boy references an encounter that never happened that could have been sexual; it is implied that a minor sneaks out at night to be with a boy; a minor boy kisses a minor girls hand.

Mature Subject Matter:

Murder, natural disasters, sickness, death, war, suicide, ethical issue of kill or be killed, oppressive governments, children killing children, adults killing adults, sacrifice, starvation and dehydration; personal crises.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

A lethal injection is mentioned as a form of killing.

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
3
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
3
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
1
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

Books and reading have always been an important part of my life. When I was very young, my grandma was the library director at our local public library. Years later, after she had retired, I became a librarian at the same library and worked there for several years before taking a part-time job at a local coffee shop, which gives me more time to do what I love, to read and to review books! A few of my favorite authors are Aimee Bender, Diane Chamberlain, and Curtis Sittenfeld however, I will read almost any book I come across! In my spare time you can find me reading (of course), volunteering at a wildlife animal rehab, or hanging out with my two house rabbits.