Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

Hunted down by a ruthless “cleaner” from the future, star-crossed lovers Eden and Ryan have been forced to travel a hundred years forward to 2123. Ryan has broken fundamental laws of time for them to be together, and now they face his trial and permanent imprisonment . . . and a life without each other. Eden knows that she must save Ryan, but he's under tight security. All Eden wants is Ryan, but is it possible to be together when it seems the whole universe is against them? Fans of Claudia Gray, Amie Kaufman, and Meagan Spooner will be swept away by this epic cross-century romance in which love bends the laws of time and reason.…

Chasing Stars

by Helen Douglas

Overall Book Review:

I really enjoyed Helen Douglas’s After Eden so when it’s sequel Chasing Stars became available, I was anxious to continue reading the story. My anticipation was more than satisfied with this fantastic sequel. Apart from a few characters who appear in both books, this new part of the series (Chasing Stars) is very different from the first (After Eden), due to a setting change in which Douglas makes a great transition. We also meet some entertaining new characters along the way who really add to the complexity of the story and made Eden’s adventures more challenging and exciting. This well-rounded story is full of action, romance, and suspense thus will captivate the interest of a large audience. Douglas wraps up the duology quite nicely with a very unexpected but perfect finale. Those who enjoyed Cristin Bishara’s Relativity and Theo Lawrence’s Toxic Heart should also love Chasing Stars.

Review of an Advance Reader’s Copy

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Bloomsbury Children’s Books


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  11 religious exclamations; 16 mild obscenities; 1 derogatory name; 4 scatological words.

Violence/Gore:  Many (17) brief incidents including character playfully hits another; character thinks about the possibility of death; character looks for weapon for self-defense purposes; verbal threat; secondhand reports of characters’ parents dying; reference to terrorists and murderers; secondhand report of drunk driving accident during which a character permanently hurt leg; reference to people dying of hypothermia; character at gun-point; character hits head on rock; character punches another; character hits another with a bottle; spaceship intentionally burned; character smashes store window intentionally; two incidents of characters getting murdered.

Sex/Nudity:  Many (59) brief incidents including holding hands; slow dancing; arm around waist; hugging; cuddling; kissing; playing with hair; massaging leg; character removes clothing for doctor exam; innuendo; character sunbathes in bra and underwear; reference to a lesbian; character jokes about imagining people naked (to prevent nervousness): character in bra and underwear with innuendo; a few incidents when a female character changes clothes in front of male character (non-sexual); character’s clothes removed so another person can pose as him; characters making out with her hands under his shirt; characters sleep in the same bed; reference to characters with hands all over each other; female character is pushed up against male character.

Mature Subject Matter:

Gambling, theft, underage drinking, teenage character contemplates whether she and her boyfriend will have sex.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

Bar hopping; drinking at a party; drinking with dinner; character smokes cigar; character smokes cigarette; frequent underage drinking; reference to a drunk driving accident; references to drunk characters; two incidents when characters are drugged for a short period of time (they are not hurt); reference to a character who is addicted to drugs.

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
4
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
3
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
3
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

I love being able to help busy parents who just don’t have the time to pre-screen all their children’s books and know how much I appreciate it as my sons have gotten older. I feel very blessed that my amazing husband makes it possible for me to be a stay-at-home mother to four amazing boys. When not reading or enjoying time with my family, I like baking, especially trying new recipes, and the occasional sewing project.