Close

Login

Close

Register

Close

Lost Password

Book Review

Publisher's Note:

For fans of Americanah and The Lowland comes a debut novel about an immigrant couple striving to get ahead as the Great Recession hits home. With profound empathy, keen insight, and sly wit, Imbolo Mbue has written a compulsively readable story about marriage, class, race, and the trapdoors in the American Dream. Jende Jonga, a Cameroonian immigrant living in Harlem, has come to the United States to provide a better life for himself, his wife, Neni, and their six-year-old son. In the fall of 2007, Jende can hardly believe his luck when he lands a job as a chauffeur for Clark Edwards, a senior executive at Lehman Brothers. Clark demands punctuality, discretion, and loyalty—and Jende is eager to please. Clark’s wife, Cindy, even offers Neni temporary work at their summer home in the Hamptons. With these opportunities, Jende and Neni can at last gain a foothold in America and imagine a brighter future. However, the world of great power and privilege conceals troubling secrets, and…

Overall Book Review:

The cover of this book attracted me more than the storyline, but after cracking Behold the Dreamers open for the first time, I quickly fell in love with the characters, too. I can honestly say I was not expecting to be as blown away by this book as I was. It holds much wisdom and clarity within its pages, and I hope many people read this book and learn from it. 

The protagonist, Jende Jonga, is an immigrant who made his way to America from Cameroon, in hopes of making a great life for his family in America. I quickly became engrossed in the story of Jende and his family, and the lives they lead in New York. It is quite clear that Jende doesn’t fully understand America, and how living here works, but he is willing to learn. Jende hasn’t always had an easy life, but it is implied that certain situations in his homeland made his move to America seem like his only choice.

I appreciated how the author gave credit to Americans for being generous and kind, but also showed how as in any culture, misunderstandings arise and that there may be consequences. I never gave much thought to what it would be like to immigrate to a new country, and Behold the Dreamers does a nice job of fictionalizing the experience for a reader. I think all readers could benefit from the story this book holds. 

Review of an Advance Reader’s Copy

This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Random House


Content Analysis:

Profanity/Language:  2 religious exclamations; 3 mild obscenities; 5 scatological words. 

Violence/Gore:  A child is mentioned to have died from a sickness; adults fight verbally; blackmail is threatened; a woman glares threateningly at another woman; a woman is mentioned to have OD’d on prescription drugs and then dying; an angry man slaps his wife several times in one brief scene. 

Sex/Nudity:  Sex between a couple is implied; a man is mentioned to have sex with a woman before marriage and to have “impregnated her”; an affair is implied; prostitution is referred to.

Mature Subject Matter:

Intermarital affairs, racial tensions, child discipline, divorce, sexual identity, domestic violence, immigration.

Alcohol / Drug Use:

Adults drink; a character is mentioned to have taken drugs; adults smoke.

Overall Book Rating
Profanity/Language
Rating:
3
10
Violence/Gore
Rating:
2
10
Sex/Nudity
Rating:
3
10

Share This Post

About the Reviewer

Books and reading have always been an important part of my life. When I was very young, my grandma was the library director at our local public library. Years later, after she had retired, I became a librarian at the same library and worked there for several years before taking a part-time job at a local coffee shop, which gives me more time to do what I love, to read and to review books! A few of my favorite authors are Aimee Bender, Diane Chamberlain, and Curtis Sittenfeld however, I will read almost any book I come across! In my spare time you can find me reading (of course), volunteering at a wildlife animal rehab, or hanging out with my two house rabbits.