Publisher's Note:  

When servant girl Milla uncovers four dragon eggs, she must figure out how to keep them a secret. But what if the dragons are exactly what the warring city need to bring about peace?

On the island of Arcosi, dragons and their riders used to rule the skies. But now they are only legends, found in bedtime stories, and on beautiful murals and ancient jewelry. When servant girl Milla witnesses a murder and finds herself caring for the last four dragon eggs, she is forced to keep them secret amidst the growing tensions in the city. But how can Milla and her friends keep the eggs safe when it means endangering everything she's ever loved? Fiery friendships, forgotten family, and the struggle for power collide as Milla's fight to save the dragons leads her to discover her own hidden past.

Perfect for fans of Cornelia Funke or Rick Riordan, Legends of the Sky is a rich and magical fantasy that touches on the questions of politics, war, and immigration.



This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Scholastic


Legends of the Sky

by Liz Flanagan

Review Date:
07/28/2020

Recommended Age:
12+

Overall Rating:
*****

Profanity / Language Rating:
**

Violence / Gore Rating:
***

Sex / Nudity Rating:
*

Overall Review:  

Beginning with a stunning cover, Legends of the Sky (also called Dragon Daughter) is fantastic through the end. Liz Flanagan is a wonderful writer who grabs your interest and maintains it. Her detailed descriptions bring the story to life. This engaging story is full of action, adventure, and beautiful relationships. There are characters from all walks of life who become unlikely friends and support one another. You'll also find characters who are duplicitous and self-serving, keeping you guessing. As book one of the Legends of the Sky series, you'll be happy to know that book two has also already been published so you can continue enjoying this magical world. If you enjoyed Christopher Paolini's Eragon, Legends of the Sky needs to be on your to-read list.


Content Analysis:  

Profanity/Language: 1 mild obscenity.

Violence/Gore:  Many (43) brief incidents including characters could get hurt or die; character feeling like she was getting hurt; verbal threats; character is willing to die for another; reference to fighting; several references to death and murder; ghosts mentioned; second-hand reports of war and nearly dying; reference to cat scratching someone; mention of slavery; references to poisoning; hunting referred; second-hand report of houses burning; reference to looting; mention of spousal abuse; character tripping and falling but not getting hurt badly; child's arms getting bruised by soldiers; man hitting wife across face; character falling and breaking wrist; character getting poisoned to be put to sleep; dragon getting shackled, causing cuts; boat catching fire in dream; dragon nearly dying; character shooting arrows at dragon and dragon burning people in defense; characters fighting; characters getting killed.

Sex/Nudity:  Few (7) brief incidents including reference to flirting; dancing; kissing; holding hands; touching face.



Mature Subject Matter:  

Death; murder; war; prejudice.



Alcohol / Drug Use:  

Reference to dad being drunk; character saying she will have ale for adult to drink; wine being sold at market; minor drinking wine; minor given wine as gift.



Reviewed By Jenny
No image available