Amazon.com Widgets





Publisher's Note:  

The beautifully romantic third book in Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series!The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales, and is perfect for fans of Veronica Roth's Divergent, Ally Condie's Matched, or Lauren Oliver's Delirium.

Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Includes a sneak peek at The Heir, the highly anticipated fourth book in the Selection series!



The One

by Kiera Cass

Review Date:
03/24/2016

Recommended Age:
14+

Overall Rating:
***1/2

Profanity / Language Rating:
***

Violence / Gore Rating:
****

Sex / Nudity Rating:
***

Overall Review:  

The One is the third book in The Selection Series by author Kiera Cass. The whole series is a new take on the popular dystopian genre, but with a somewhat predictable storyline and love triangle. The selection process that America, the main character, is involved in is somewhat like the TV show The Bachelor. As the title implies, she makes it to the end, but that doesn't mean it's smooth sailing to seeing her love for the prince, Maxom, returned.

Not only does Maxom need to pick a wife, but there's a rebel uprising threatening to crumble the fragile peace the country is holding on to, an overbearing and abusive father to temper, and ideas for the betterment of his people to implement. His distractions lead to confusion and second guessing on America's side, leaving her wondering if she'll get her happily ever after.

If you are looking for a light take on the dystopian genre, The Selection Series is the perfect read for you. That being said, it would be best to start at the beginning of the series in order to understand the storyline. 

Other reviews from the series in the Compass Book Ratings' database:

The Selection (Book 1 in The Selection Series)

The Heir (Book 4 in The Selection Series)


Content Analysis:  

Profanity/Language:  3 religious exclamations; 12 mild obscenities; 2 derogatory names. 

Violence/Gore:  Attack on a building that includes bricks being thrown through windows and guards firing guns back; secondhand account of rebels having killed the sister of one of the characters; mention of how a group of rebels wants to kill everyone that is royalty; news report of rebels attacking people resulting in deaths--no descriptions; secondhand account of at least 300 people having died at the hand of the rebels--brief mention with no descriptions; guards shoot at mob of men trying to hijack a truck; character shot in the arm; account of someone being beaten by an abusive relative; mention of someone having been shot and killed; mention of caning being used as a form of punishment; secondhand account of a boy receiving a lashing on his back for stealing; man grabs the arm of a girl to drag her from the room; 8 page account of rebels attacking a gathering which includes gunfire from both sides, people getting shot--chaos described, but not blood and gore; as part of the attack one character is shot in the head execution style--brief mention with no actual description beyond a sentence; character slaps another in order to make her come to her senses; character shoots gun at a rebel; mention of characters that died in the attack with no description.

Sex/Nudity:  17 accounts of hand holding; 8 descriptions of kissing; 10 accounts of hugging and embracing; girl suggests boy should take off her dress as they are kissing and embracing, which he declines to do; 4 girls watch from a window a group of men without shirts on exercising outside; girl admits to having seen a specific boy without his shirt on; implied that a group of homeless girls make money by selling their body (words prostitute/prostitution are not used, just implied); girl rubs the back of a boy in an act of comfort; boy lays down in a bed on top of the covers with the girl under the covers and caresses her face and hair; boy and girl embrace and kiss passionately on face and neck (3 paragraph description); boy rips dress off of a girl, revealing her slip; characters embrace and kiss with girl only in her slip (1 1/2 page account); characters spend the night together partially clothed but no sexual activity occurs; characters share multiple kisses while lying in bed together; character strokes another character's face lovingly; man described as having a bare chest with nothing but shorts on in order to take care of injuries.



Mature Subject Matter:  

Death, abuse, social unrest, death of parent.



Alcohol / Drug Use:  

Character drinks alcohol in order to numb the pain of a medical procedure and ends up drunk; person described as smelling of alcohol and acting very drunk; account of people getting tipsy from eggnog; characters drink champagne together.



Reviewed By Sally
No image available