Publisher's Note:  

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin-one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristen Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down.



This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Bloomsbury Children's Books


A Court of Thorns and Roses

by Sarah J. Maas

Review Date:
05/21/2015

Recommended Age:
18+

Overall Rating:
****

Profanity / Language Rating:
*****

Violence / Gore Rating:
*****

Sex / Nudity Rating:
********

Overall Review:  

Imagine if Katniss Everdeen found herself in Middle Earth, which was populated with faeries; then throw in the plot of Beauty and the Beast and you have A Court of Thorns and Roses. While the Beauty and the Beast theme is recognizable, Sarah Maas really made the story her own. Suspense and surprises abound from beginning to end. The reader often can't tell who is good and who is bad, and many characters seem to change sides throughout the story. Occasionally Maas gets a bit abstract in her descriptions, but that leaves more to the reader's imagination and interpretation. Keep in mind, this is not the Disney version of Beauty and the Beast; the story is darker than one might expect and the love scenes can get a bit descriptive. The story is creative, original, and engaging. Fantasy readers will enjoy this book.


Content Analysis:  

Profanity/Language:  26 mild obscenities; 23 derogatory names; 20 scatological words; 3 anatomical terms.

Violence/Gore:  Many (66) brief incidents including verbal threats; characters have potential to kill or be killed; character considers suicide; stories of towns and inhabitants destroyed; mention of a man beating his wife; secondhand reports of murder and death; poem and song about death; stories of sacrificed virgins and slaughtered humans; decapitated head found; story of family getting killed in house fire; references to war; secondhand report of torture; fantasy creatures fighting; character has nightmare about getting hurt by creature; fantasy characters getting injured, tortured and killed; hunting; house and contents damaged by angry character. 

One extended incident of human characters fighting and killing fantasy character.

Sex/Nudity:  Many (40) brief incidents including kissing; holding hands; dancing; cuddling; sitting on lap; touching waist, hand and arm; licking face; hugging; touching hair; arm around; character hung up naked for all to see after getting killed; character's naked body is painted several times; innuendo; character wanting and having thoughts about sex; character looking on another with sexual thoughts; secondhand report of character trying to lure another to bed; thinking about holding another character; metaphor of feeling like character touching another's body; implied and reported sexual activity; reference to character being used for sex by another; character touching areas normally covered by a bathing suit; two scenes with briefly explicit descriptions of sex between adults with nudity.



Mature Subject Matter:  

Starvation, poverty, slavery, human sacrifices, murder.



Alcohol / Drug Use:  

Characters drink with dinner and at celebrations.



Reviewed By Jenny
No image available