Amazon.com Widgets





Publisher's Note:  

A popular middle-grade writer moves to chapter books with this humorous tale about a cat that makes Grumpy Cat seem cheerful. Perfect for fans of Geronimo Stilton and Dog Diaries.

Hissy Fitz lives with some two-legged creatures who are destined to serve him in every possible way and understand his every whim. Sadly, these creatures are sorely lacking in their skills. For one thing--they touch him when they want to touch him. Don't they know that the two-legged are there for him to touch when he wants to--meaning when he wants food? Petting wakes him up! They speak to him--don't they know the two-legged should be seen--so Hissy knows where to order food--and not heard! It's becoming intolerable. What is this irascible cat to do?



This book was sent to Compass Book Ratings for review by Egmont


Hissy Fitz

by Patrick Jennings

Review Date:
12/26/2014

Recommended Age:
9+

Overall Rating:
***1/2

Profanity / Language Rating:

Violence / Gore Rating:
**

Sex / Nudity Rating:

Overall Review:  

Whether you are a cat lover or not, the brilliant cover on Hissy Fitz is irresistible. This book takes a humorous look at less than 24 hours in the life of Hissy Fitz, a house cat whose human interactions make sleeping an impossibility.  Cat owners will smile at the familiar cat behavior and attitude.  With an over-abundance of bad attitude, Hissy prowls the town. There is one characterization misstep when Hissy and his feline friends diverge into some human games; this feels incongruent to the cat narrative and it is hard to envision Hissy deigning to stoop to such homosapien behavior.  That quibble aside, any series with a cat this grumpy has a lot of potential.

 

This chapter book by Patrick Jennings is captivatingly illustrated by Michael Allen Austin and would be a great read for readers even younger than age nine.  Naturally, it is a must read for young cat owners so they can walk in the footsteps of their feline friends for a little while.  If you enjoy Hissy Fitz and are waiting for the next installment in the series, another great book from a cat's perspective is Socks by Beverly Cleary.

 

Review of an Advance Reader Copy


Content Analysis:  

Profanity/Language:  None

 

Violence/Gore:  Character bangs/bumps head; two animals fight, non-detailed; animal hisses threateningly upon various occasions; animal eats a mouse; animal slashes packaged chicken breast, mention of blood on claws; animal swipes claw at characters.

 

Sex/Nudity:  None



Mature Subject Matter:  

None



Alcohol / Drug Use:  

None



Reviewed By Cindy
No image available